Govt, opp approve four names of ECP members

PTI, ANP express reservations

Islamabad—A 12 member parliamentary committee during a meeting on Monday finalised four names for appointment as members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) but Pakistan Tehrik i Insaaf and Awami National Party expressed their reservations over the way the members were selected.
The meeting was held in Islamabad under the chairmanship of Minister for Information Pervaiz Rashid.
The parliamentary committee nominated Justice (retd) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch as the ECP member from Balochistan, Retired federal secretary Abdul Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh, Justice (Retd) Ms Irshad Qaiser from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) and Justice (retd) Altaf Ibrahmi Qureshi from Punjab, Information Minister Pervaiz Rashid told media on Monday after the meeting.
Awami National Party Senator Daud Khan Achakzai abstained from voting on the appointments, claiming his party was not consulted, while Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNA Shireen Mazari abstained from voting on the ECP posts for Punjab and KP.
It may be mentioned here that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had sent twelve names, three each from every province to the Speaker National Assembly for the selection of members of ECP.
Opposition leader Syed Khurshid Shah had also sent twelve names, three each from every province to the Secretary National Assembly.
PTI Chairman Imran Khan said his party had proposed the name of Tariq Khosa from Punjab but it was not considered by the committee.
The Supreme Court had taken a suo motu notice of the ECP becoming non-functional after the retirement of its four members.
The parliamentary committee that nominated the members included Law Minister Zahid Hamid, Senator Mir Kabir Ahmed Shahi, Senator
Islamuddin Shaikh, Senator Daud Khan Achakzai, MNA Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhry, MNA Muhammad Arshad Khan Leghari, MNA Dr Darshan, Nawab Yousaf Talpur, Ghulam Mustafa Shah, MNA Shireen Mazari and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui. Information Minister Pervaiz Rashid said a summary for the appointment of new ECP members will be forwarded to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. The final notification decision rests with President Mamnoon Hussain.—INP

Share this post

    scroll to top