Former PM Gilani’s disqualification ends today


The five-year disqualification of former prime minster Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani to contest for parliament seat ends today (April 26).
The Supreme Court, on June 18, 2012, had declared Yusuf Raza Gilani disqualified from holding a seat in the parliament from the date of his conviction on April 26 for contempt of court.
Former chief justice of SC, Iftikhat Muhammad Chaudhry had disqualified Gilani for not writing a letter to Swiss bank against the then president Asif Ali Zardari.
Yusuf Raza Gilani will be eligible to contest next general election to be held in 2018 after ending of his disqualification today (Wednesday).—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top