Electioneering gaining momentum in federal capital


Candidates withdraw nomination papers from Rawalpindi seats

The election activities are gaining momentum as the candidates have started campaigns for three National Assembly seats of the Federal Capital. After the recent delimitation, the number of NA seats in Islamabad has increased from two to three.
The new constituencies for Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) are NA-52, NA-53 and NA-54, which are home to 700, 744, 670, 683 and 630,152 people respectively. The candidates of political parties as well as independent have started convincing in their respective constituencies. The political parties also planned to organize public processions in upcoming days.
The people in different areas also started hoisting political party’s flags on their cars and houses. For NA-54, a total of 39 candidates have filed papers. The constituency comprises some urban areas and some rural areas of the capital, from Sector G-10 and onwards towards Tarnol as well as Sector I-10.
The constituency of NA-52 mostly comprises rural areas of the capital including housing societies located along the Islamabad Expressway all the way up to Rawat on the edge of Rawalpindi. A total of 27 candidates have filed papers for this seat including the likes of former Capital Administration and Development (CADD) minister Tariq Fazal Chaudhry. The contestants belong to different political parties besides independent candidates.
The interesting candidates from Islamabad including Pakistan Tahreek- e- Insaf (PTI) Asad Umer for NA-54, Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) Anjum Aqeel, Jamaat -e- Islami (JI) Mian Muhammad Aslam, Raja Imran Ashraf from PPP and Advocate Nosheen Kharal from Justice and Democratic Party contesting elections for NA-54. Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal fielded Mian Aslam and Raja Bilal Faisal on three National Assembly seats from the federal capital. Rejecting all objections against Imran Khan’s candidacy from NA-53, the election Appellate Tribunal allowed Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief to contest polls from Islamabad.
Meanwhile, some candidates including independent and party-affiliated withdrew their nomination papers for general election 2018 here on Thursday.
According to details, Sheikh Arslan Hafeez of PML- N and Muhammad Hanif Chaudary belonging to MMA withdrew their nomination papers from NA-62, while Muhammad Taj Abbasi of MMA also withdrew his nomination paper from NA 59.
Sheikh Arslan Hafeez of PML- N has been awarded party ticket from PP-16 while Taj Abbasi of MMA had got ticket from PP-13.
Meanwhile, Kamran Aslam of PPP also submitted his party ticket to the Returning Officer concerned from NA-59.
According to ECP, the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers and last date for candidates to submit certificates from their political parties, showing their party affiliations for allocation of symbols is June 29 till 4 pm. The symbols will be allotted to the candidates on June 30.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top