ECP for recounting in 26 NA, PA constituencies


Zahid Chaudhary


After receiving a series of complaints regarding election results, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Monday ordered the recounting of votes in 26 national and provincial constituencies. These include fifteen constituencies of National Assembly and eleven of Punjab Assembly.
Several candidates had objected to the results of their election after the July 25 polls and had appealed to the ECP to order a vote recount. The recount of several other constituencies is already under way after losing side appealed to the returning offices.
The ECP stated today that recounting will be held in NA-57 (Murree), NA-158 (Multan), NA-110 (Faisalabad), NA-129 (Lahore), NA-112 (Toba Tek Singh), NA-15 (Abbottabad), NA-10 (Shangla), NA-159, NA-170 (Bahawalpur), NA-118 (Nankana Sahib), NA-140 (Kasur), PP-220 (Multan) and DG Khan district’s PP-291, PP-290, and PP-292 provincial constituencies.
Former prime minister and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was defeated by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Sadaqat Abbasi in NA-57 (Murree).
In NA-158, former premier and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Yousaf Raza Gilani was defeated by the PTI candidate.
In NA-129, PML-N leader and National Assembly speaker Ayaz Sadiq had defeated PTI’s Aleem Khan. In NA-15, PML-N’s Murtaza Javed Abbasi, the deputy speaker of the NA, had defeated PTI’s Ali Asghar Khan.

Share this post

    scroll to top