Directorates placed under Mayor’s control notified


Zubair Qureshi

Islamabad—As follow up of the CADD minister Tariq Fazal Chaudhry and Mayor of Islamabad Sh Ansar Aziz’s joint press conference a day earlier the Cabinet Division has formally notified directorates and formations shifted from administrative control of CDA to the Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation. These departments have been placed under Islamabad Mayor’s administrative control “along with all rights, assets and liabilities by virtue of Islamabad Capital Territory Local Government Act, 2015,” further says the notification.
The notification goes on to say that “the employees transferred to Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation shall continue to draw their pay and allowances from CDA till close of FY 2015-16. However, CDA may continue to pay salaries to the transferred staff for another period of two months if budgetary allocations would be delayed by the government to IMC.”
Those directorates that have come under the complete administrative control of the IMC include Environment, Security, Health, Municipal Administration, Water Supply, Sanitation, Security and Public Relation.
The following directorates have been fully transferred to IMC: Directorate of Health Services, Directorate of 1122, Directorate of Municipal Administration, Directorate of Sports and Culture, CDA Capital Hospital, CDA Model School, Directorate of Public Relation, Directorate of Security, Directorate of I.T, Directorate of Coordination, Directorate of MQC, CE Lab, Directorate of G and H, Directorate of Bulk Water Management, Directorate of Water and Sewerage Development, Directorate of M and RM, Directorate of Water Supply, Directorate of Sewerage Treatment Plant, Directorate of MPO, Directorate of Environment (East and West), Directorate of Sanitation, Directorate of E and DM and Directorate of RP(KAC).
All the officers and staff of these above-mentioned directorates have been transferred to IMC with immediate effect. The 26 other directorates include Directorate of Administration, Directorate of HRD-I and HRD-II, Directorate of Law and Labor Relation, Directorate of PR, Directorate of Security, Directorate of IT and Management, Directorate of Coordination and Parliamentary Business, Directorate of Architecture, Directorate of Structure, Directorate of Traffic Engineering and Planning, Directorate of Maintenance, Directorate of E and M, Directorate of Road (North and South), Directorate of Machinery Pool Organisation, Directorate of Parks, Directorate of Environment (Protection Cell and Regional), Directorate of Enforcement, Finance I, II, Directorate of Audit, Directorate of Accounts, Directorate of Revenue and Head of Treasury which have been partially divided between CDA and IMC.
Moreover, the partially divided directorates will be transferred as per provision of ICT Local government Act, 2015 within three months. This would be done after carefully working out the details by the committee being constituted for this purpose. It would comprise of Chief Metropolitan Officer as representative of IMC and DG Administration from CDA. The local bodies’ election were held last year on 30 November. Mayor and deputy mayors were elected in February and took oath on 4th March, 2016. It took almost seven months for the elected members to finally get their hands on power.

Share this post

    scroll to top