Country to witness transfer of power on Monday


PTI, allies have 180 seats in NA: Fawad

Zahid Chaudhary


The country is all set to witness the transfer of power next week with the session of the National Assembly summoned by President Mamnoon Hussain on Monday. The transition comes at a very significant time when the nation is also marking Independence Day on Tuesday.
Caretaker Prime Minister Justice (Retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk had formally forwarded a summary on Thursday to summon the session of the National Assembly (NA) on August 13.
The newly elected national assembly members will take oath of their office in the first sitting of the session marking the transition of power. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq will administer the oath to the MNAs elect. In the democratic history of Pakistan, it is the third time that an elected government is transferring power to another elected government.
The oath taking will be followed by the elections of the speaker, the deputy speaker and the leader of the house.
For these elections, the candidates will be given time to submit their nomination papers with the secretary National Assembly.
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf which secured the most number of seats in the National Assembly in July 25th elections has nominated its chairman Imran Khan for the slot of leader of the house/prime minister. Claiming support of 180 members, the party looks confident to get Imran Khan elected as the next prime minister of the country.
The opposition parties are bringing a joint candidate for the slot and it is the PML (N) President and former Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif.
Whilst the opposition has nominated Khurshid Shah for the slot of the speaker, the PTI is yet to announce its candidate for the slots of the speaker and the deputy speaker.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan Thursday notified victory of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan from NA-35, 95, 243 and 131 constituencies.
The electoral commission after accepting Imran Khan’s apology in poll code violation case issued notifications from NA-35 (Bannu), NA-95 (Mianwali) and NA-243 (Karachi).
The ECP also notified Imran’s victory against Pakistan Muslim League-N leader Saad Rafique from NA-131 constituency in Lahore after the Supreme Court suspended the Lahore High Court verdict of vote recount.
During the proceeding on the appeal of Imran Khan against the LHC decision, Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Saqib Nisar ruled out recounting in the constituency.
Meanwhile, PTI’s spokesman Fawad Chaudhry has claimed that the party has achieved a simple majority in the National Assembly after the Balochistan National Party-Mengal announced its decision to support the party in the centre.
In a tweet, the party’s information secretary said that after the Akhtar Mengal-led BNP-M announced an alliance with the PTI, the party now has 180 seats in NA. To attain a majority in the legislature, 172 seats are required.

Share this post

    scroll to top