Aqeel clinches National Ranking Tennis title

Sports Reporter

Wah Cannt—Top seed Aqeel Khan annexed the single title by beating 2nd seed Muhammad Abid in a one sided affair in the men’s singles final of 1st Chairman POF Board National Ranking Tennis Championships 2016 here at Ordinance Club ON Saturday. Aqeel Khan took only one hour and 25 minutes to take three sets. He was unbelievably in superb form. He won the first and second set in just 40 minutes at score 6-1 and 6-1 by breaking 3rd and 5th games in both the sets. In the 3rd set Abid sowed some resistance and the score reached to three all. Aqeel Khan won the third set at score 6-3 by breaking 8th game of Abid. Aqeel Khan pocketed Rs 105000, whereas Abid got Rs 60000 along with trophies. Aqeel Khan, who teamed up with Shahzad Khan also claimed men’s doubles title by beating Muhammad Abid and Usman Rafiq in a well contested three-set match.
Abid and Usman won the first set at 6-1 by playing aggressive game from the baselines and outplayed top seed Aqeel and Shahzad.
In the second set the score reached four all as both teams held their own serves.
Abid and Usman broke the 9th game of Shahzad and build up a winning lead 5-4 and was serving for the match.
Aqeel and Shahzad played some good volleys at the net and levelled the score 5 five all. They won the 2nd set at 7-5 by breaking 12th game.
The match was decided in the match tie break (10 points). Aqeel and Shahzad won the match tie break at score 10-5. The both received Rs 32000, whereas Abid and Usman pocketed Rs 16000 along with trophies.
In the Boys Under-18 singles, Aman Atiq Khan of Roots School and SNGPL won the title by thrashing Yousaf Khan in a one sided affair.
He won the title without conceding a single game in both the sets. Aman Atiq Khan is in his prime form and the match lasted only for one hour and five minutes. On Friday he had eliminated top seed Muzammil Murtaza in three sets. Aman Atiq got Rs 20000, whereas Yousaf Khan received Rs 12000.
In the boys under 14 singles final top seed Muhammad Shoaib beat Hamza bin Rehan in a three- set encounter.
He won the final at score 4-6,6-1,6-3.
Lt. Gen. Omer Mehmood Hayat, Chairman POF Board was the chief guest on the occasion.
Salim Saifullah Khan, President PTF was also present as the guest of honour. Iftikhar Rashid, Executive Vice President PTF, Muhammad Khalid Rehmani, Secretary PTF, Col. Gul Rehman, Director PTF, Dr. Aamir Murad, President POF Sports Board, Mr. Asad Durrani, Secretary PTF Sports Board and a large number of tennis lovers also witnessed the final.
Shahzad Akhtar Alvi, ITF Tennis Official was the Referee of the Championships. A total Rs 500,000 was distributed amongst the players.

Share this post

    scroll to top