All set for devolution of powers to LB representatives

Salim Ahmed

Lahore—Provincial Transition Team, constituted by Chief Minister Punjab Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif in the convener-ship of Additional Chief Secretary Punjab Shamail Ahmad Khawaja, has completed all the arrangements and necessary parameters for devolution of powers from Provincial government to newly elected local governments and appointment of officials of local governments in District Health Authorities and District Education Authorities, distribution of assets and liabilities as well as issuance of funds.
According to draft bill of new proposed District Administration set up, with assuming charge of their offices by newly elected Lord Mayer of Lahore Metropolitan Corporation, mayors and deputy mayors of Municipal Corporations in nine divisional headquarters, chairmen, vice chairmen of 25 municipal committees and chairmen and vice-chairmen district councils, Punjab Local Government Ordinance 2001 will be replaced with new administration system. Under the new system, offices of Commissioners will continue to work in every division while Deputy Commissioners will be appointed in place of District Coordination Officers in the districts. According to new administration, 29 posts of EDO Finance and Planning and 18 posts of EDO Community Development will be finished. Chief Officer of grade 20 will be appointed in Metropolitan Corporation Lahore while grade 19 Chief Officers will be appointed in 11 Municipal Corporations of the remaining districts. Chief Officers of grade 19 will be appointed in District Councils of the districts of divisional headquarters while Chief Executive Officers of grade 18 will be appointed in District Health Authority and District Education Authority in 18 districts.

Share this post

    scroll to top