Aleem, Saad, Abid’s pleas for recount accepted

Staff Reporter


Requests for recounting
in NA-129 Lahore-V,
NA-131 Lahore-VII and NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII have been accepted by the returning officers of the respective constituencies.
The requests were submitted by the losing candidates in the constituencies — Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Abdul Aleem Khan (NA-129) and PML-N’s Saad Rafique (NA-131) and Abid Sher Ali (NA-108).
Aleem Khan had lost to PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq by around 8,000 votes, according to the preliminary results. Rafique and Ali had lost to Imran Khan and Farrukh Habib (both PTI candidates) with very thin margins (under 1,500).
Questions have been raised at a number of other constituencies where the win-loss margins were very close and recounting can be expected to take place at more constituencies.
Calling into question the vote-count process, major political parties including the PPP and the PML-N have claimed that the elections were ‘rigged’ to favour the PTI.
However, the parties have yet to present evidence for their claims.
Their claims rely heavily on the non-provision or late provision of Form 45, which contains the vote count of a polling station, to polling agents of political parties. Some parties have also claimed their polling agents were not allowed to sit inside some polling stations during the counting process.

Share this post

    scroll to top