7 Major-Generals promoted to rank of Lieutenant-General


Zahid Chaudhary


Army Promotion Board headed by Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa on Friday approved the promotion of seven major generals to the rank of lieutenant generals.
Those who were promoted include:
1. Maj-Gen Nadeem Raza presently Comdt PMA, 2. Maj-Gen Humayun Aziz presently DG W&R at GHQ, 3. Maj-Gen Naeem Ashraf presently posted at NDU, 4. Maj-Gen Muhammad Afzal presently DG FWO, 5. Maj-Gen Sher Afgun presently IG FC Balochistan, 6. Maj-Gen Qazi Ikram presently DG PS at GHQ, 7. Maj-Gen Bilal Akbar presently DG Rangers (Sindh).
Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa on Wednesday had named Lt-Gen Shahid Baig Mirza as new Corps Commander of Karachi. Lt-Gen Mirza would replace Lt- Gen Naveed Mukhtar who had been serving at this important post for the past two years.
General Mirza was previously posted as Military Secretary at the General Headquarters Rawalpindi. Lt-Gen Ghayur Mehmood, who was serving as Chief of Logistic Staff at the GHQ will replace him as the new military secretary.
Gen Bilal, who is presently DG Rangers (Sindh), belongs to Artillery Regiment of Pakistan Army. He is currently heading a targeted operation in Karachi against terrorists and is credited for restoring peace and stability in the metropolis by effectively reducing targeted killings and kidnapping for ransom incidents.
Before taking charge as DG Rangers (Sindh), Gen Bilal was posted as the General Officer Commanding (GOC) in Lahore.

Share this post

    scroll to top