6,200 polling booths to be set up in Rawalpindi district


The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalized the polling scheme for seven National Assembly and 15 provincial assembly constituencies of Rawalpindi district, under which 6,200 polling booths, including 3,200 for male and 3,000 for female voters, will be set up for the general election 2018.
According to the District Election Commissioner office, total 2,576 polling stations would be set up in the district where 3,125,669 voters, including 1,647,507 male and 1,478,162 female, would cast their ballots.
Total 75 National Assembly (NA) and 166 provincial assembly (PA) candidates are contesting the general election 2018 in the district, including six heavyweight candidates former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Raja Qamar ul Islam and Hanif Abbasi.
According to the final lists issued by the returning officers here, total 143 nomination papers were filed for the seven NA seats, NA-57 to NA-63, and 402 for 15 provincial assembly seats, PP-6 to PP-20, of the district. Total 128 nominations papers were accepted for NA seats and 351 for PA seats while after the scrutiny process, 15 papers of NA and 51 of PA seats were rejected by the returning officers. About 54 nomination papers of NA and 185 of PA were withdrawn. Lists of candidates along with their symbols have been displayed outside the offices of returning officers and district returning officers.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top