358 Punjab Assembly members take oath


Salim Ahmed


Up to 358 members of the Punjab Assembly Wednesday took oath of their office in the inaugural session of the 17th Punjab assembly. Speaker Punjab Assembly Rana Mohammad Iqbal administered oath to the MPAs.
Elections for the slots of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Punjab Assembly will take place on August 16, after which the new chief minister will be elected.
PTI has nominated Chaudhry Pervez Elahi for the slot of speaker and Dost Muhammad Mazari as deputy speaker. While PML (N) has nominated Chaudhry Iqbal Gujjar for speaker’s office. The PML (N) members took oath while wearing black ribbons.
Prominent among those who took oath include: Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, Aleem Khan, Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, Syed Hassan Hassan Murtaza, Syed Ali Haider Gillani, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Dr Yasmin Rashid, Salman Rafique, Chaudhry Zaheerud Din, Raja Bisharat, Jugno Mohsin, Bilal Yasin, Nadeem Kamran, Irfan Doultana, Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed, Mian Aslam Iqbal, Mohsin Laghari, Murad Ras, Dr Mukhtar Bharat, Zakia Shahnawaz, Uzma Bukhari, Hina Pervaiz Butt, Uzma Kardar and Talat Naqvi.
PML (N) members chanted slogans “ Chor Aaya, Chor Aaya” when PML Q leader Pervez Elahi entered the house. Newly elected member of PML (N) Zaib-un- Nisa Awan entered the house with the pictures of PML (N) Quaid Nawaz Sharif while minority PML (N) MPA Tariq Gill entered the house wearing chains.

Share this post

    scroll to top