3-member inquiry commitee formed

Finality of Prophethood declaration

Staff Report


Former prime minister and PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif on Saturday ordered an inquiry against those responsible for making the amendment to the finality of Prophethood declaration in nomination papers.
Nawaz formed a three-member inquiry committee to identify those responsible for the amendment.
The inquiry committee will be headed by Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, other members of the committee are Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal and federal minister Mushahidullah Khan.
The inquiry committee will submit its report to Nawaz after 24 hours. The former premier has expressed concern at the incident, said spokesman Asif Kirmani. Kirmani added that strict action will be taken against those responsible.
On October 5, the National Assembly unanimously passed amendments to the Election Bill 2017, restoring Khatm-i-Naboowat (finality of Prophethood) declaration required to be signed by public office holders to its original form.
The controversy arose when the ruling party passed amendments to the election law, with opposition parties claiming the bill moved by the government had also changed the contents of a form regarding belief in Khatm-i-Nabuwwat (finality of Prophethood), which is required to be signed by public office holders and election candidates. The amendments passed were agreed upon by members of parliamentary parties after NA Speaker Ayaz Sadiq had accepted the government had made a ‘clerical error’ and invited them to discuss the matter in his chamber.
During the meeting, the parliamentary leaders agreed to restore the declaration to the original form it was in before the National Assembly passed the Elections Bill 2017 on Tuesday.

Share this post

    scroll to top