PPL Champion K-Electric ousted, Wapda move to semis


All-Pakistan Shama Challenge Football Cup

Peshawar—Pakistan Premier League Champion star-studded Karachi Electric Supply Comply (KERSC) ousted when beaten by Pakistan Wapda in a thrill-packed quarter-final of the All-Pakistan Shama Challenge Football Cup being played at Sumbal Khan Football ground, Qayyum Sports Complex here.
With this stunning victory on penalty shoot-out Pakistan Wapda moved to the semi-finals along with PAF, Islamabad, and Pakistan International Airline (PIA). Pakistan Wapda, a bunch of youngsters played very excellently right from the kick-back.
It was just in the second minute of the 90-minute match, when Pakistan Wapda took the lead, putting the star-lit team of KESC in tremendous pressure. Essa Khan, a player hailing from a remote village of Balochistan but with a great talent, he is playing in the US Circuit, failed to match up with the situation and thus Wapda got complete dominance in the first-half play.
Wapda forwards Muhammad Ayaz, skipper Arif Mehmood, Khalid Khan, Ghulam Farooq and Zulfiqar Ali along with mid fielders Shahram Babar, Waseem, Saadat Hussain and Akram Masih were took good as far as distribution of flair short-passes.
Pakistan Wapda succeeded in maintaining their solitary goal lead till the end of the first session. It was the second session in which K-Electric players skipper Essa Khan along with international players like Saddam, Moosa Khan, Mehmood Khan, Mohsin and Umar Farooq managed their position with ball control. As a result it was in the 73rd minute when K-Electric succeeded in leveling the tally through unmarked Saddam.
Essa travelled past three defenders before giving a free ball to unmarked Saddam in front of the goal-post and he did not hesitate in scoring a beautiful goal to make the tally 1-1. After 1-1, both Wapda and K-Electric raided on each other territories with some goal-fetching moves but they were failed.
To get certain result of the match, both were awarded five each penalty kicks on which Ahmad, Faisal, Ghazanfar, Arif, Asif succeeded in availing their respective attempts while for K-Electric Sadam, Riaz, Mohsin, Essa scored on their attempts but Muhammad Khanoo missed the target and thus Wapda won the battle by 6-5.
Anwar Khan supervised the match while Amin Ullah, and Alliuddin acted as deputy referees while Qazi Asif was the match commissioner.—APP