PML-N intra-party elections today


Nawaz set to retain slot of party president

Sophia Siddiqui

Islamabad—The intra-party election of the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz will be held today as the process of submission of nomination papers for the election was completed on Monday. The party will elect its president, chairman, six vice presidents, secretary information and secretary finance. The nomination paper of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif for the office of party’s president was submitted by Federal Ministers Khwaja Saad Rafiq, Pervez Rashid, Pir Sabir Shah and others on Monday. Talking to media after submitting the PM’s nomination papers, Rafiq said that two sessions of party’s general council will be held tomorrow. In the first session, the Council will approve the party’s Central Executive Committee’s resolutions and amendments to the party’s constitution, while in the second session party’s officer-bearers will be elected.
The process of scrutiny of nomination papers will be completed between 9.00 am to 10.00 am today while polling will start at 11.00 am. About two thousand members of party’s general council will caste votes to elect the office bearers for the next four years. He said that overall election will be held for choosing 10 office-bearers of the party including the president, six vice presidents, chairman, finance secretary and information secretary. He added that the party’s constitution authorized the president to select people on other offices. Regarding PTI’s planned march, he said that Imran wanted to impede democracy in the country. He said that those talking of locking down Islamabad can never be sincere with the country. He asserted that all state institutions were on the same page. Saad Rafique told media that “party will also discuss amending party constitution.” Meanwhile the Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif chaired a political meeting to consult PML-N central leadership about the intra party elections. Senior leadership apprised the PML-N president about the arrangements and details of party convention. This meeting was attended by CM Punjab, Finance Minister, Interior Minister, Planning Minister, Defence Minister, Information Minister, Dr Asif Kirmani and Anusha Rehman.