PCB names members of tribunal formed to adjudicate spot-fixing scandal



Three members of an anti-corruption tribunal set up by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) submitted their respective consents on Friday, March 17, said a statement issued on Monday.
The tribunal has been tasked with adjudicating allegations of spot-fixing in the second edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), which concluded earlier this month.
According to the statement, the members of the tribunal were sent appointment notifications last week after two accused players, Khalid Latif and Sharjeel Khan, formally informed the PCB that they would contest the charges framed against them.
The tribunal will comprise retired Justice Asghar Haider, who will chair the tribunal, and retired Lt Gen Tauqir Zia as well as former test player and team manager Wasim Bari as members.
Had the convicted players admitted their guilt, the matter would have been referred to the chairman of the PCB’s Disciplinary Panel, who would have simply determined the imposition of sanctions on the two players.
The tribunal will now issue notices for a preliminary hearing to both PCB and the players, as per the prescribed procedure. At the preliminary hearing, future procedures and dates of hearings will be decided.
Last month, PCB had provisionally suspended the two players under its Anti-Corruption Code (ACU) as part of an investigation into an international syndicate which was believed to be attempting to corrupt the PSL.
Both batsmen were handed charge sheets a week after they were sent home for the PSL event held in the United Arab Emirates.
The ACU ended up suspending and issuing notices of charge to a total of five cricketers — batsmen Nasir Jamshed, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan, and opener Shahzaib Hasan — in the PSL spot-fixing inquiry.—APP