Names of six players put on ECL


PSL spot-fixing scandal

Zahid Chaudhary


The government has put the names of the cricketers under investigation for the Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) spot-fixing scandal on the Exit Control List (ECL). They are Sharjeel Khan, Nasir Jasheed, Khalid Latit, Shahzeb Hassan Khan and Muhammad Irfan. The FIA, in a letter, asked the ministry of interior to prevent the players from traveling abroad till the investigation is completed which was later approved by the minister of interior. The Interior Minister said that transparent and impartial investigation should be ensured to bring cricketers involved in this crime into justice.
Names were put on ECL after Interior Minister Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan approved inclusion of the names of cricketers in Exit Control List (ECL) involved in Spot-fixing.
He was chairing a meeting in here on Monday; attended by the Secretary Interior, Advocate General, official of NADARA, PTA. FIA and other officials from ministry.
The Minister has given directions to take actions against the bookies who allegedly involved in this crime and to ban all the websites promoting such crimes.
Five players – Nasir Jamshed, Muhammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hassan, Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif – are currently under investigation by the anti-corruption unit of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The investigation into the spot-fixing scandal is being carried out by the FIA on the formal request of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).
The interior minister, in an earlier media talk, had stated that the FIA would carry out an inquiry irrespective of the fact the PCB was reluctant to probe the case through the agency. Nisar said the PCB can continue its inquiry but the FIA would still also look into the case.