NA body for return of Pakistanis from Afghanistan


Islamabad—A meeting of the National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) met today in Parliament House, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Muhammad Jamal ud Din, MNA.
The Committee discussed the issue of safe return of the families of South Waziristan and North Waziristan Agencies who fled to Afghanistan during Zarb-e-Azb in detail. After detailed discussion the Committee strongly recommended to the Federal Government to take immediate steps and ensure the safe return of the said families.
The Committee also discussed the issue of non-provision of tents to the Temporarily Displaced Persons (TDPs) of South Waziristan Agency and urged the quarters concerned to provide the tents to the said TDPs on emergency basis before starting the winter season. It was also pointed out during meeting that Jandola Bazar and houses of the Bhettani tribe were completely destroyed during operation against the terrorists by the security agencies but the property owners had not been compensated and registered by the quarters concerned.
The Committee strongly recommended to the FATA Secretariat and FATA Disaster Management Authority (FDMA) to carry out re-survey for identification of the affected areas of FR Tank and other FRs and compensate the affected families and treat them as TDPs.
The meeting was also attended by Mr. Muhammad Nazir Khan, Mr. Ghalib Khan, Begum Tahira Bukhari, Ms. Iffat Liaqat, Mrs. Suriya Jatoi, Mr. Aftab Shaban Mirani, Mr. Qaiser Jamal, Ms. Ayesha Gulalai, Mr. Muhammad Kamal, Mr. Nasir Khan, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, Sheikh Fayyaz-ud-Din and Mian Shahid Hussain Khan Bhatti MNAs and Officers/Officials of the Ministry.—INP