Jadeja’s name to figure in umpires report to match-referee for damaging pitch


Bipin Dani
Observer Correspondent

Mumbai—Ravindra Jedeja’s name will figure in two umpires (Kumar Dharmasena and Bruce Oxenford) report to the match-referee David Boon for damaging the pitch while batting during Team India’s batting against New Zealand on second day in the ongoin g Test at Indore’s Holkar Cricket Stadium.
“No action against the batsman will be aimed at (though the captain or the governing body, BCCI in this case, has right to do so…and the ICC has penalised him too) but it is mandatory to notify the reason for awarding five penalty runs to the non-offending side”, one of the former ICC umpires from India, says.
Jadeja was warned twice (both by the different umpires) in this innings for trying to damage the pitch.
Both umpires acted as per Law 42/14 (Fair and Unfair Play for damaging the pitch).
When asked, why the five penalty runs are awarded to the opposite team and not deducted from the offending team, former India captain and the CAB president Saurav Ganguly, besides being in Durga Pooja in Kolkatta, said, “thats’s how the law is. But even if it is not deducted from India’s total, the benefit has remained with the New Zealand team by having bonus runs.
Ganguly is a member of the MCC’s cricket committee. The MCC governs the laws of the game.
One of the former ICC umpires says, “the penalty runs are always credited and not debited. Penalty runs aren’t deducted from the offending side, they are awarded to the non-offending side irrespective of whether they are batting or fielding”. .
This, however, is 57th instance when the five penalty runs are awarded to the non-offending side. However, on most occasions, they are for a ball striking a fielder’s helmet on the ground behind the keeper.
However, according to the cricket statistician Bharath Seervi, five penalty ruins were awarded to the visitng West Indies team when the two Bangladesh batsmen Tamim Iqbal and then Nasir Hossain were trying to damage the pitch against Bangladesh in 2011 (Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong).
Interestingly, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena was also officiating in the said Test.