Chief of Air Staff Khyber Open Tennis C’ship begins


Sports Reporter


The 36th edition of the Chief of the Air Staff Khyber Open Tennis Championship got under way here at PAF Officer Mess Courts on Thursday.
Director PAF Sports Control Board Committee Group Captain Asghar Awan was the chief guest on this occasion who formally inaugurated the 36th edition of the Championship.
Players from all across the country are taking part in the prestigious Championship being played at well-prepared lush green grass courts which are in excellent condition, giving a fast response to the players.
Flanked by Flt. Lt. Inam Ullah Khan, Group Captain Asghar Awan lauded the active participation of the players from all across the country.
Top players are in action in Under-10, Under-14, Under-18, Men’s doubles, Men’s singles and Veterans as more than 110 players vie for the top honor in six different categories.
Pakistan No. 1 Aqeel Khan and his younger brother Yasir Khan played the last Men’s singles final wherein Yasir Khan won the battle against Pakistan’s most Davis Cupper Aqeel Khan in three sets final.
On the opening day a qualifying round of the Men singles was played wherein 64 players took part and out of the 64 eight qualified for the main round of 32.
In the Under-18 a total of 32 players took part in the qualifying round wherein eight qualified for the main round of 32 as well. There is a draw of 32 in the Under-14, 16 in the Under-10 and eight each in the Men doubles and veterans.
Ilham, Bilal Ahmad, Tahir Ullah, Shoaib Khan, Hasam, Shoukat, Zeeshan Ashraf, Ahmad Kamil, Fahim Ullah qualified to the main round from the qualifying round while Shan Mehmood, Hasam Shoukat, Shayan Sharaz, Zeeshan, Faisal Afridi, Azhar Iftikahr, Hasam Khan, Muhammad Kashif took berth into the main round of the Under-18 category from the qualifying round of the 32 players.
In the Men singles qualifying round Ilham Khan defeated Hafiz Arbab by 6-3, 4-6 and 6-3. Ilham played well but faced tough resistance against Hafiz Arbab in the three sets battle.
In the second match Bilal beat Amjad Nasir by 6-1 and 6-2, Tahir Ullah defeated Faisal Iqbal by 6-3 and 7-5 (6-6).
In the Under-18 qualifying round Shan Masood beat Sheharyar by 6-3, 3-6 and 6-4 in another thrilling match as both Bilal and Amjad exhibited a classic display of forceful smashes and attacking approach.
In the second match Hassan Shoukat beat Saddam Khan by 6-2 and 6-2.